RIVER DEBEN ASSOCIATION Minutes of the Annual General Meeting 7.30pm Wednesday 24th April 2024 at Quay Street Church, Woodbridge

Colin Nicholson (Co-Chair) opened the meeting and welcomed, on behalf of the Committee all those attending.

- 1. **Apologies for absence:** David & Jean Dean, Sarah Evelegh, Lyn Gameson, Carolyn Gibbins, Dave Griffiths, Kate Laydon, Caroline Matthews, Josh Masters, Anne Moore, Chris Peeke, Jane & George Roles, Phil Skinner, Imogen O' Neill
- 2. **Minutes of the AGM held on 26th April 2023:** Acceptance of the minutes, which are on the RDA website, as a true record of the meeting was proposed by Sarah Zins and seconded by Ruth Leech. The vote was carried by a large majority.
- 3. Matters arising: None.
- 4. **Treasurer's Report for the year ending December 2022:** The Treasurer's report is on the RDA website. Colin Nicholson thanked Moray MacPhail for his work as Treasurer and as Membership Secretary. Acceptance of the report was proposed by Julia Jones and seconded by Matt Lis. The vote was carried by a large majority.
- 5. **Examination of Accounts:** Colin Nicholson thanked Kathryn Cooper for acting as examiner for the 2023 accounts. Her appointment as examiner for the 2024 accounts was proposed by Liz Hattan and seconded by Louise Crich. The vote was carried by a large majority.
- 6. **Election of Officers and members of the Committee:** The following committee members are standing for re-election after 4 years
 - Liz Hattan
 - Moray MacPhail

Their election was proposed by Richard Keyworth and seconded by Robin Whittle. The vote was carried by a large majority.

The following committee members were co-opted during the year

- Anna-Marie Sellon
- Ben Grundy

Their election was proposed by Penny Hemphill and seconded by Alison Candy. The vote was carried by a large majority.

Colin Nicholson thanked all the committee for their input over the year. He also thanked Alan Comber and Bertie Wheene for his work in supporting the Website.

He then paid tribute to Robert Simper (president) and Jane Havilland (co- chair) both of whom are standing down and there was a round of applause for both from the audience.

He then thanked all who are involved in the production and distribution of the magazine. In particular Julia Jones (Editor), Bertie Wheen, Mark from Bettaprint and James Skellorn of Barker Gotelee. Colin also highlighted the fortnightly Journal articles on the website which cover more static and long term topics.

7. **Co-Chairs report:** This was included in the spring edition of 'The Deben' magazine. Jane Havilland took over to summarise the key activities documented in the Co chairs report.

This concluded the main business of the meeting.

Once the meeting concluded there were informative presentations from panellists Dr Robin Price (Director of Quality and Environment, Anglian Water Services Ltd), Dr David Findley (Citizen Scientist Co Ordinator, Deben Climate Centre) and Professor Bill Brammar (Citizen Science). This was followed by an interesting question and answer session with additional panellists Katie Teesdale-Ward (Communications & Engagement Manager for Get River Positive, AWS) and Greg Hall (Coastal Catchment Manager (N. Norfolk, E. Norfolk & Suffolk, AWS). The meeting closed at 21.30.